ISO 9001 Quality Management Systems

The ISO 9001:2015 standard is the internationally benchmarked quality management system standard that used by organisations of all sizes and industries, all over the world.

Using a risk-based approach, the ISO 9001:2015 Quality Management System standard is used to improve business processes, increase the quality of an organisations products and/or services, and exceed customer expectations.

Key Benefits of the ISO 9001 Standard

Some of the key benefits to organisations that certify to the ISO 9001:2015 standard include; a demonstrated focus on the customer, a commitment to service, high quality product, and a cycle of continuous improvement.

Show Customers You Care

The ISO 9001 Standard is primarily customer-focused and is a great way to show your commitment to quality in your products or services, as well as consistency in how you deliver those to the customer. This will in turn provide long term customer relationships.

Improve Your Business Processes

Understanding and improving on your business processes in the most effective way to do business. This streamlined approach will ensure you and the team work more productively and free up the time to explore new opportunities.

Meet Industry Requirements

Whether you’re looking to meet existing industry requirements, or if you’re seeking to move into new markets, or to remain competitive in a competitive marketplace, having an ISO 9001 accreditation can make all the difference.

ISO 9001:2015/AMD 1:2024

The amendment to ISO 9001:2015 Quality Management Systems, titled AMD 1:2024, focuses on “Climate action changes” in the realm of Quality Management systems. This amendment reflects a current and forward-looking approach by integrating climate action considerations into the quality management systems framework.


What Is In The ISO 9001:2015 Standard?

The most recent version of the standard, the ISO 9001:2015, developed by ISO, consists of 10 clauses, which include all the components that make up the standard. Each section concentrates on the requirements involved in the aspect of the quality management system.

ISO 9001:2015 provides a framework for improving quality across products and services in a consistent and reliable manner. Certification to ISO 9001 demonstrates your ongoing commitment to customers, validated by an independent third party.

SAI Global Assurance is accredited by JAS-ANZ to provide ISO 9001:2015 certification. This means that SAI Global’s processes, systems and auditors are rigorously assessed to ensure you receive the best in customer support and delivery.
Clause 0-3: Scope

Clause 0 to 3 of ISO 9001:2015 describes requirements for a QMS including process requirements, and products and services requirements.

Clause 4: Context of the Organisation

Clause 4 of ISO 9001:2015 describes how the organisation must understand the external and internal factors that may affect its ability to achieve the desired results.

Clause 5: Leadership

Clause 5 of ISO 9001:2015 describes how the organisation’s leaders must commit to the success of the management system, providing sufficient resources, ensuring the quality policy and objectives are in place, and clearly communicating roles, responsibilities and authorities clear.

Clause 6: Planning

Clause 6 of ISO 9001:2015 describes how planning must address actions to address risks and opportunities; quality objectives and how to achieve them; and change management.

Clause 7: Support

Clause 7 of the ISO 9001:2015 standard describes how the organisation must ensure sufficient resources are allocated to the quality management system, and carefully monitor their use and effectiveness. 

Clause 8: Operation

Clause 8 of the standard describes how the organisation should plan, implement and control processes to meet requirements for providing its products and services.

Clause 9: Performance Evaluation

Clause 9 of the ISO 9001:2015 standard describes how the organisation must be able to demonstrate and verify process capability as specified by the customer’s approval process requirements.

Clause 10: Improvement

The final clause of ISO 9001 requires a commitment to continuous improvement, including managing nonconformities, solving problems, error-proofing, and taking corrective action when required.

ISO 9001 Certification

ISO 9001 Certification.

Improve your business systems and gain a competitive advantage. Contact us for a quote today.

Buy the Standard

Buy the ISO 9001 Standard on the SAI Global Infostore here.

5 Steps to Certification

Getting certified can be a daunting prospect, however we’ve helped to break it down into 5 simple steps.

Explore what it takes to get certified with SAI Global Assurance.
Learn More

Are You Ready To Take The Next Step to Certification?

Request a callback from one of our certification experts to have a no-obligation discussion around getting certified to ISO 9001:2015 with Intertek SAI Global.

Frequently Asked Questions

Explore some of the most frequently asked questions relating to certification to the ISO 9001:2015 Standard.
How long does it take to get ISO 9001 certified?

It takes approximately 6-12 months to get certified to ISO 9001:2015. This is subject to your documentation and implementation and audit readiness.

The timeline includes:

  • Performing a Gap Analysis
  • Conducting Stage 1 Audit within 3-6 months from your Gap Analysis
  • Conducting Stage 2 Audit within 3-6 months from your Stage 1 Audit.
What is the difference between ISO 9000 and ISO 9001?

ISO 9001:2015 outlines the requirements for establishing Quality Management System, whereas ISO 9000 provides the definitions and vocabulary used in quality management standards.

ISO 9001:2015 is the standard businesses get certified to.

Is there an ISO 9001 audit checklist?

You can find our ISO 9001 Audit Checklist here.

How do I prepare for my ISO 9001 audit?

The final stage to your ISO 9001 Certification is to pass the Stage 1 and Stage 2 Audits. Here are 5 things you need to prepare to make sure you have a smooth audit:

  1. Prepare your Employees: This includes communicating why your organisation is undergoing certification audits, that they are trained appropriately, and have the resources to complete their job.
  2. Review your Documentation: Make sure your documentation is up-to-date and has been approved and supported by management.
  3. Ensure Processes are Being Followed: Ensure the right procedures are being followed by employees, especially for critical processes.
  4. Conduct a Self Assessment: Prior to your Stage 1 Audit, you will need to complete a self-assessment to determine your readiness.
  5. Be Professional and Organised: Make a good impression by ensuring the workspace is clean and organised, treat auditors with respect, and have your evidence ready for sharing.